For those who love both coffee and alcohol, we’re certain that you’ve heard of Kahlua. This liqueur is best known for its coffee flavor, making it a staple for making cocktails and other similar food items. You can also drink it with just some ice and simply enjoy the aroma and unique taste.
But the question often raised is this: is Kahlua vegan? As delicious as it is, we have to make sure that it’s a product that we can suitably consume.
> Read more: is wine vegan?
And that’s what this article is all about. Here, we’ll discuss what Kahlua is and what it contains, so we can determine whether it’s vegan or not.
What is Kahlua?
Kahlua is one of the most popular coffee liqueurs around the globe. It was first introduced in 1936 by Pedro Domecq in Veracruz, Mexico.
The name stems from a Veracruz Nahuatl term that means “house of the Acolhua”, and that reflects a sense of cultural importance.
Because of its undeniable flavor and versatility, Kahlua continues to dominate the coffee liqueur market. That’s why it’s still incredibly popular even today.
Aside from being enjoyed as a drink by itself, Kahlua is often mixed with other spirits and drinks to produce popular cocktails such as Espresso Martini, Spanish Coffee, Mudslide, and White Russian, to name a few. Some people also use it with their pastries, cakes, and ice cream, and that goes to show how versatile it truly is
From these, we can see that this is a drink for everyone – especially for coffee lovers.
What does Kahlua contain?
Armed with a deeper understanding of what Kahlua is and what you can do with it, you may now be curious as to what it contains to deliver such a smooth and delicious taste.
But basically, Kahlua only consists of three main ingredients: rum, arabica coffee, and sugar.
With that said, we get a kick from the aromatic rum, the smooth and strong coffee flavor from arabica coffee, and the balanced sweetness from the sugar.
Is Kahlua vegan?
Now that you know what’s contained in each bottle of Kahlua, we can now proceed to answer: is Kahlua vegan? The answer might surprise you.
Upon a close inspection of its list of ingredients, we might easily think that Kahlua is suitable for vegans. It does not contain any milk despite its creamy flavor, so one might believe that it’s vegan.
However, the company addressed this concern directly and confirmed that Kahlua is not suitable for the vegan diet. While it does not contain dairy or dairy-based ingredients, it may still have traces of animal protein in it – and that keeps it off the realm of veganism. And that can be heartbreaking for Kahlua lovers out there.
Nevertheless, the opposite can be said for vegetarians. Since it does not contain any meat, Kahlua can be suitable for their diet.
Vegan Kahlua Alternatives
While Kahlua is not exactly vegan-friendly, you’d be pleased to find out that there are alternatives for this popular coffee liqueur. Here are our top favorites.
When it comes to Kahlua alternatives, Kamora is the first name that comes into mind. With its satin-smooth texture and impressive burst of flavor, it’s easy to see why Kamora is a top alternative for vegans.
What’s interesting with Kamora is that it seems to deliver a similar taste to that of Kahlua. Thanks to its selection of premium beans to roast, it provides us with an aromatic coffee base that blends perfectly with its sweet vanilla, caramel, and chocolate undertones. That makes it a fun drink by itself.
Like Kahlua, Kamora is also quite versatile. It can create a White Russian cocktail that’s surprisingly similar to when you use Kahlua, which is quite impressive.
Most importantly, this vegan alternative is also more affordable. Now, who said vegan-friendly food is expensive? They haven’t probably had a taste of Kahlua.
Mr. Black’s Coffee Liqueur
If you’re looking for a flavorful alternative with surprisingly less sugar content, look no further than Mr. Black’s Coffee Liqueur.
It contains ingredients like vodka, coffee, water, and sugar to deliver that perfect blend of aromatic coffee, sweetness, and a hint of alcohol which is similar to Kahlua. But the biggest surprise here is that this coffee liqueur only contains around half of the sugar content of its competitors. If you’re trying to keep track of your sugar intake, this is the best choice for you.
On the issue as to whether it’s vegan, the company itself has confirmed that it contains no dairy, no animal protein traces, and other animal byproducts. That makes it both vegan and vegetarian-friendly.
If you think that’s already good enough, it doesn’t end there. Mr. Black’s Coffee Liqueur is also kosher, which means that it’s also suitable for specific Jewish diets. It also implies food and health safety for a lot of us.
And if you have gluten allergies or intolerance, Mr. Black’s Coffee Liqueur also has you covered. This gluten-free drink is perfectly safe for your consumption, being certified as gluten-free.
All things considered, this Kahlua alternative is the most inclusive of our varying diets. And with such a delicious flavor to boot, it’s easy to see why it’s a popular vegan alternative.
Aber Falls Coffee & Dark Chocolate Liqueur
Another popular alternative is the Aber Falls Coffee & Dark Chocolate Liqueur – especially if you live in the United Kingdom.
From its name, you can easily tell that this drink has a more bitter taste to it, owing to the added dark chocolate. This makes it perfect for people who love dark chocolate-flavored cocktails and desserts.
Nevertheless, the bitterness from the dark chocolate blends well with the coffee, so you’re bound to enjoy it however you want.
What’s interesting is that the company behind this liqueur has directly confirmed that it does not contain any animal byproducts in its production. And that gives us the green light for vegans everywhere.
With its deliciously intriguing flavors and aroma, the Aber Falls Coffee & Dark Chocolate Liqueur seems to keep us coming back for more. If only it were easily available in the United States, it would have been at the top of this list.