Is Hummus Vegan? Find Out Now!

is hummus vegan

Whenever most non-vegans think of something that everyone can eat, they often turn to hummus. It is often a poor man’s version of ranch dressing. Still, much like all the other broad assumptions in the world, there are some exceptions to the rule that hummus is vegan.

Instead of assuming that the hummus you choose to set out for your next party is vegan, there are a few things that you can do to check. Before starting with that, however, why not look at some definitions?


What Does Being Vegan Mean?

Veganism and being a vegetarian sometimes get confused, but there are clear differences between them. A vegetarian simply stays away from all meat products, such as beef, fish, chicken, and pork. They substitute their lack of meat by finding protein in other ways, and that’s the gist of the diet.

Veganism, on the other hand, means staying away from all animal products. They don’t just avoid meat, but they also stay away from eggs and dairy products as well because they came from an animal. Some people even try to stay away from any products or clothing made from animals as well and focus on animal-free alternatives.

One of these alternatives is hummus. Hummus originated in the Middle East as a dip or a spread. It is traditionally made from chickpeas, ground sesame seeds, olive oil, lemon juice, and garlic. All these ingredients are ground and turned into a dip that is packed with flavor and nutrients.

That dip is eaten with vegetables and pita bread and helps to add flavor to a meal. Hummus is pretty good, and there are a lot of great reasons to make hummus your dip of choice.

For vegans, it provides the protein that they don’t get when eating meat. It’s also high in fiber and can fight inflammation. However, if you aren’t eating vegan hummus, then you might not be able to focus on all the health benefits.

ingredients of hummus

Is Hummus Vegan?

According to the ingredients above, yes it is vegan if you make it. You do not need to worry about meat or animal products getting into the hummus. However, if you purchase your hummus from the store, then you need to make sure that it is vegan. Thankfully, if you are asking the question ‘is hummus vegan and gluten-free?’ the answer is yes 90% of the time!

Store-bought hummus can use dairy products, and you need to watch out for them. Always make sure that you read the label and look at the ingredients before you make your purchase.

Unless you are an aficionado for sniffing out dairy projects, here are some culprits you need to watch out for:

  • Greek Yogurt
  • Cheese
  • Milk
  • Certain Flavorings, such as pesto

If you are unsure if a flavoring contains dairy, you can always look and check. Typically, dairy or animal products sneak up on you in the coloring or the oils used in the hummus. Here are some of the ingredients that you should avoid when looking for vegan hummus in the grocery store.

Palm Oil and Olive Oil

While both oils tend to be plant-based and are technically okay for vegans, it depends on what type of vegan you are. Olive oil does produce a lot of waste in its production that is not biodegradable. It doesn’t decompose, it doesn’t break down, and it can’t be recycled. It also cannot be processed by a water treatment plant, and instead, it just clutters up the area and ruins the environment.

Palm oil is the same way and has a similar impact on the environment. The production of the oil contributes to deforestation and threatens the habitats of endangered species of the world. Additionally, the clearing of the trees to make the oil contributes to greenhouse gas emissions.

Vitamin D

Vitamin D is a vitamin that doesn’t come from a plant-based source. Instead, it comes from lanolin, which is a type of wool grease. That grease comes from the glands of wooled animals. If you find any vitamin D in your hummus, the hummus is not vegan.

Honey

Finally, some hummus brands use honey as a sweetener. Honey comes from bees which sadly makes it not vegan. You need to find some sweetness for the hummus somewhere else.

Most of the time you don’t need to worry about store bought hummus being non-vegan if the labels give that impression. If the package says vegan, that’s good enough for everyone as the manufacturers wouldn’t be allowed to sell it otherwise.

However, if you have a friend who makes homemade hummus and adds a spin to it, the choice of ingredients can cause some problems. Make sure to talk to the person to see if the plan is to make vegan hummus for you, because it is easy to absent mindedly use some non-vegan ingredients and not even know about it.


Which Store Bought Brands of Hummus Are Vegan?

Now that you know what ingredients to look for and which ones to avoid, it is time to look at some store-bought brands to see if they are safe for you.

Is Sabra hummus vegan?

Yes, Sabra hummus is vegan. Both the classic and roasted red pepper versions are free from any negative ingredients, and they taste good too!

Is Boar’s Head hummus Vegan?

Well, even though Boar’s Head is typically a seller of beef and cheese, it does sell some varieties of hummus as well. Most of the varieties, including the Boar’s Head Roasted Red Pepper Hummus with Pretzels, and the Roasted Pine Nut are vegan and Non-GMO.

Is Trader Joe’s Chocolate Hummus Vegan?

Chocolate hummus might seem like an anomaly, but do not knock it until you give it a try! It tastes like a chocolate dip but has none of the added sugar. Plus, it is vegan and can be devoured safely. A few dips should make you join the club.

Is Nandos hummus vegan?

If you decide to get your hummus from this dining establishment rather than buying it at a store, you are in luck because it is vegan. Several of the things on the menu are vegan as well, so you are sure to find something you like. There are some great non-vegan options as well, so everyone can find something to eat at Nandos.

Is Yumi’s hummus vegan?

Unfortunately, the best answer here is that it may not be. The manufacturer states that ingredients such as eggs and fish may be present.


Hummus in bagel

How to Prepare and Use Hummus

Alright, now you know that hummus is vegan and that you can get it both store bought and make it yourselves with no issue at all. That still leaves the overall question of what to do with your hummus? Sure, you can leave it in the container and place it in the middle of some vegetables, but if you want to have a bit of class, then try some of these tips.

You can put hummus inside of veggie burgers, noodles, salads, and even use it as a flatbread pizza topping. It does not just have to be a dip for vegetables and crackers, it can be a sauce and substitute for other products just as well.

Plenty of vegan recipes use hummus, and with a little experimentation, you can find ways to use the product that you’ve never thought of before.

What about this? Is hummus raw vegan? Did you know you could make it completely raw with the right recipe? Of course, you can make it vegan too!

Looking for a hummus recipe? This one is pretty good!


The Ultimate Vegan Superfood

For most people who adopt the vegan lifestyle, hummus becomes a bit of a cornerstone food. It’s delicious, versatile, packs a ton of protein, and is pretty cheap to buy or make. Even if you aren’t vegan, it’s worthwhile to try some hummus on occasion because it is a healthier alternative to other dips.

No matter what led you to hummus in the first place, you can use this Middle Eastern dip to make your next party a healthy and vegan-friendly hit! With so many options for flavors out there, you are bound to find a type of hummus that you just cannot stop eating.

Joe
Joe became a vegan after watching Cowspiracy. He always knew something was off with the way we consume animal products, but watching the documentary made him realized how bad it actually is. Joe is now making sure that every product he buys is 100% vegan!