Are Pizza Hut Breadsticks Vegan? -Your wish has been granted

are pizza hut breadsticks vegan?

Not all of us order fries on the side. Many of us are big fans of Pizza Hut Breadsticks. Now that you’ve taken responsibility and turned vegan, you must be intrigued by this mouthwatering question, ‘are Pizza Hut Breadsticks vegan?’

Are Pizza Hut breadsticks vegan?

Yes, Pizza Hut Breadsticks are vegan if you order them without the buttery blend and seasoning. The non-vegan dairy ingredients are only a part of the seasoning, and you may not need to exclude the buttery blend unless you want to avoid natural flavors in your diet.

Your mouth hasn’t watered for nothing. Pizza Hut Breadsticks are almost vegan. To be precise, there are very minor doubts related to the dough composition and the seasoning definitely has animal based ingredients which is to say, skipping the seasoning makes your breadsticks absolutely vegan. Well, let’s look at the little doubt we have in their composition.

You may skip the absolutely non-vegan seasoning but beware of the other inescapable constituents

There’s something fishy in the dough, and also in the buttery blend.

Pizza Hut Breadsticks’ dough may disappoint you if you are a prudent vegan

There is one slightly problematic ingredient in Pizza Hut Breadsticks called Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate. Although it is absolutely possible and in fact common to obtain this product from specific plants, it is indeed extracted from animal sources in many cases. This possibility of being animal based raises doubts in the hearts of many vegans who don’t want to indulge in anything even remotely obtained from animals. 

Another such constituent of their dough is ‘enzymes’. It is possible for enzymes to be obtained from bacterial sources, but there’s a reason these manufacturers are called capitalists and not environmentalists. Obtaining enzymes from animals is much more cheap as compared to bacterial cultures. This is one reason vegans don’t trust the controversial ingredients. 

Pizza Hut Breadsticks

There are controversial ingredients in the buttery blend too

The presence of natural flavours is yet another means to raise your eyebrows. It is well known in the vegan community that natural flavours are commonly obtained from both plant and animals sources and may not always be vegan. These flavours are obtained by heating the given source into a concentrate. It ain’t known where the natural flavours employed in the breadsticks are derived from. So it is obvious that vegans will speculate and worry.

You know why you’re skipping the seasoning, right?

The Pizza Hut Breadsticks seasoning has many dairy-based ingredients. These include parmesan cheese, romano cheese, and hard grating cheese cultured from partially skimmed cow’s milk, whey, dehydrated butter, and butter oil. Dairy products are predominant in the list of things vegans ought to avoid. 

This is why you should explain it in advance to the cashier why you don’t want the seasonings in your Pizza Hut Breadsticks. Even when you order them online, there’s an option to choose dry breadsticks which will not include the seasonings or butter.  

Why foregoing minor animal ingredients may not be as impactful as you think 

First, it ain’t convenient for you or anyone for that matter to go through and research every minute constituent of your food. It is not really advisable to get stuck on the slightly doubtful and the insignificant amounts of controversial ingredients present in essentially all food items. 

It is very important to reduce your negative impact on the environment and this is literally the whole point of adopting a vegan lifestyle. But it is also important to understand which actions will significantly reduce that impact and which ones will only beat around the bush. 

Foregoing the natural and artificial flavours in your food may not be as helpful as actually avoiding meat, dairy, and egg consumption at all costs. This is true because not a lot of animals are sacrificed for natural and artificial flavours while meat, poultry, dairy, and leather are big industries which are directly impacted by yours and many other people’s decision to go vegan. 

This debate also focuses on doubtful ingredients from whichever sources are unknown to us. We don’t know whether the enzymes and the sodium stearoyl lactylate present in the dough are derived from animals or not. So it may be too extreme to declare a straight rejection at the slightest possibility of an animal source. You will require a lot of extra effort to eliminate ingredients which may not even be non vegan in reality.

Considering that you don’t classify Pizza Hut Breadsticks as vegan, you still have a lot of other vegan options to drool on at Pizza Hut. 

Vegans Assemble! Pizza Hut won’t let you down 

Well, not as down as most other restaurants do with their negligible options and hardly plain water for kind people. Pizza Hut really has enough options for you in their menu, enough that you wouldn’t have to eat at some other vegan place afterwards. 

French Fries!

You would have obviously guessed it before we mentioned. French fries are almost always vegan at every other place. Unless someone deliberately wants us to stay away! There can be no better accomplice to literally any food than fries. And there are no doubtful ingredients in here, not at Pizza Hut at least.

Guilt free order Cinnamon Sticks for dessert

If you order these without a frosting, your Cinnamon Sticks arrive totally vegan and sweet. Almost all frosting contains whey and other milk products which cannot be acceptable as the part of a vegan’s diet. But the lack of frosting does not particularly degrade these sweet Sticks at all. 

Sprinkled with sugar and cinnamon and as sweet and spicy as you like it, these rolls will make our vegans go gaga for sure.

Literally create your own pizza!

We have listed for you all the vegan pizza ingredients at Pizza Hut so that you can make your own pizza. From the pizza crust to the crust flavours, drizzled condiments, sauces, cheese, and toppings, we have listed everything in order.

Choosing the crust of your very own vegan pizza

Pan crust: The thick pan crust offered by Pizza Hut is entirely vegan. This thickness will compensate for the lack of vegan cheese.

Hand Tossed crust: This is classic. The foundations are laid with your choice of vegan sauce and the toppings are obviously your choice of vegetables. This is an excellent piece to indulge in at Pizza Hut.

Thin and Crispy crust: This crust is best known for its crusty and crumbly texture that always has you asking for more, of course without cheese.

Gluten-Free crust: This simple crust is your safest choice as a prude vegan who doesn’t want any chances.

When you’ve made a tick in front of your choice of crust, make space in your head for the possibility of craving a flavoured crust. If you want, there is one safe vegan option called Buttery Blend which is based on soybean oil instead of dairy butter. 

It is important to be aware about why we haven’t mentioned the usual crusts and common flavours in the options for vegans. They are definitely not vegan. The basic stuffed crust has cheese as an ingredient and dairy milk is a constituent of all other flavours be it Hut Favourite or Toasted Parmesan.

Selecting the perfect vegan sauces to make your pizza elegant

We hope you aren’t disappointed by the fact that this list doesn’t include barbeque sauce (it has honey). But these three sauces are perfectly vegan.

Classic Marinara Sauce: This sauce never disappoints, neither do we. blend it with your chosen crust and have a great lunch feasting.

Buffalo Sauce: You’d be happy to know that Pizza Hut’s well known Buffalo sauce is vegan. This addition is meant to kick up the flavours of everything it is added to and intensify the heat. 

Tomato Sauce inspired by Robust: Popularly, simply known as pizza sauce, this is perfect to pump up your vegan pizza. 

Although Pizza Hut in the UK offers Violife’s 100% vegan cheese, this is not the case in the states. And there doesn’t seem any possibility of an upgrade in the near future. 

Happy vegan, there are abundant veggies to display as your toppings 

Pizza Hut has black olives, green olives, green bell peppers, green chile bell peppers, jalapeno peppers, banana peppers, pineapple, mushrooms, roasted spinach, red onion, and roma tomatoes. This variety of veggies won’t ever let your pizza get boring. You are not missing out on anything.

Are Pizza Hut Breadsticks vegan or shall we stop hoping?

Technically, Pizza Hut Breadsticks are undoubtedly vegan if you order them without buttery blend and seasoning. All the non-vegan dairy ingredients are a part of the seasoning and it may not be essential to exclude the buttery blend unless you want to exclude natural flavours from your diet. 

We’d suggest that you avoid only those food items whose avoidance actually has a severe impact in reduction of environmental damage and animal cruelty. Getting through tough food choices while compromising on some essential nutrients and lifestyle changes while not making a significant impact will only add more difficulties to your life. 

Go vegan in a smarter way. Know what really needs exclusion and what doesn’t. When it comes to Pizza Hut, you can definitely have those breadsticks without dairy, and also the fries, the cinnamon sticks, and especially the happy pizza made just for you.

Joe became a vegan after watching Cowspiracy. He always knew something was off with the way we consume animal products, but watching the documentary made him realized how bad it actually is. Joe is now making sure that every product he buys is 100% vegan!