Are McDonald’s Fries Vegan? Find Out Now!

are McDonald's fries vegan?

We wouldn’t be going out on a limb saying that McDonald’s fries are the most popular worldwide. Who doesn’t love them? They’re extremely crispy, and there’s something about that saltiness that keeps you craving more.

Are you wondering if you can still have them if you decide to go vegan? We did our research so that we can answer all the questions going through your mind at this point. So, without any further ado, let’s dive right into it!

The Short Answer

Deciding whether McDonald’s Fries are vegan or not depends on where you get them. For instance, they’re vegan in the UK, but that’s not necessarily true in other countries like the USA.

The ingredients and flavours vary from one place to the other, so keep reading to find out more about how McDonald’s fries are cooked where you live.

In Which Countries Are McDonald’s Fries Vegan? 

In this section, we’ll discuss how McDonald’s fries are made in different countries. However, you should keep in mind that the ingredients might change with time, so this mightn’t be the case in the future. 

McDonald’s Fries in the UK

In the UK, McDonald’s fries are suitable for a vegan diet. Not only because they’re made of vegan ingredients but also because they’re cooked in separate frying vats. This way, they don’t get mixed with other non-vegan fried foods or animal parts like fried chicken or nuggets.

Ingredients Used for Making Fries in McDonald’s UK:

  • Potato chips
  • Sunflower oil/rapeseed oil
  • Dextrose
  • Salt

McDonald’s Fries in the USA

It’s no secret that McDonald’s USA doesn’t offer vegan burgers or dippers, so you shouldn’t be surprised that they don’t offer vegan fries either.

Not long ago, McDonald’s used animal fat to make French fries in the USA. Nowadays, they use vegetable oil like corn, canola, and hydrogenated soybean oil. Nonetheless, their fries are still not suitable for vegans as they contain beef flavour.

That said, we’ll have you know that while the flavour has nothing to do with beef whatsoever, it’s made of wheat and milk derivatives, and that’s why it’s not vegan.

Additionally, the fries aren’t cooked separately, so even if they decided to remove the beef flavour, the fries would still have a trace of animal taste as they get contaminated with animal products.

Ingredients Used for Making Fries in McDonald’s USA: 

  • Potatoes
  • Vegetable oil
  • Beef flavour
  • Sodium acid pyrophosphate (to sustain the colour)
  • Dextrose 
  • Salt 

McDonald’s Fries in Australia

Unlike the UK, where McDonald’s fries are certified vegan, things are a bit complicated in Australia. Technically, the fries are vegan because they’re not made of any animal products like milk or dairy flavours.

However, if you check their website, you’ll find out that they’re not certified as vegan-friendly, and they also state that they can’t guarantee there’ll be no cross-contact between ingredients or the tools used to handle different foods.

In other words, while the ingredients are all vegan, there’s no effort put into keeping them vegan and cooking them separately or using dedicated tools for making the fries. 

Ingredients Used for Making Fries in McDonald’s Australia: 

  • Potato
  • Canola oil 
  • Dextrose/ Dextrose monohydrate 
  • Mineral salt
  • Non-ionic polyalkylene glycol 
  • Preservatives

McDonald’s Fries in Canada

Things in Canada are no different from Australia. Although the fries are vegan, they’re not certified to be. Thus, there’s no guarantee they won’t be mixed with animal products or handled separately.

If you’re a strict vegan, the fries aren’t the best way to go. On the other hand, if your concern is whether they’re made of any animal derivatives or not, you can rest assured they’re not.

Ingredients Used for Making Fries in McDonald’s Canada: 

  • Potatoes
  • Canola oil/soybean oil
  • Sodium acid pyrophosphate
  • Dextrose
  • Preservatives
  • Dimethylpolysiloxane (antifoaming)

Should Vegans Eat at McDonald’s?

We can conclude from the previous section that McDonald’s fries are more or less suitable for vegans in most countries. However, veganism isn’t just a practice of staying away from animal products. The whole point is to stand against animal cruelty, which’s why we think that vegans better boycott all fast-food restaurants, including McDonald’s, of course. If you don’t like McDonald’s food, make your favorite vegan dish.

> Read more: Vegan options at McDonald’s.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are McDonald’s Hash Browns Vegan?

Again, it depends on where you live. In the UK, hash browns are 100% vegan. In the USA, they’re not because they contain milk. You can check McDonald’s website according to the country you live in to find out more information about the exact ingredients used for making McDonald’s fries in your country.

Are McDonald Fries Vegetarian?

In most countries, they are. However, in the USA, they might contain beef fat, so they’re neither suitable for vegans or vegetarians.

Are McDonald’s Fries Halal?

McDonald’s Fries are halal, considering they’re vegan-friendly and vegetarian-friendly in most MacDonald’s. Regardless, we’re not sure they’re halal in the USA, particularly in chains that use animal fat.


It’s crystal clear that McDonald’s fries are cooked in different ways in each country. We believe that McDonald’s isn’t suitable for vegans, regardless of where they live. Yet, if you’re 100% sure their fries are vegan, there’s no harm in having them every once in a while; it’s always a mouth-treat.

Joe became a vegan after watching Cowspiracy. He always knew something was off with the way we consume animal products, but watching the documentary made him realized how bad it actually is. Joe is now making sure that every product he buys is 100% vegan!