Are Jammie Dodgers Vegan? Find Out Now!

Are Jammie Dodgers vegan?

Many vegans like to eat biscuits because they are free from animal products. However, it’s always hard to tell with sweets whether they’re vegan or not. If you want to eat a vegan-friendly treat, there are several options you can choose from as many companies are constantly working to make plant-based products to cater to a broader market.

You can find out more about one of these products, the iconic British biscuits Jammie Dodgers, in this article. Keep reading to see whether these sweets can be a vegan-friendly addition to your diet!


What Are Jammie Dodgers?

Jammie Dodgers are delicious jam-filled biscuits made from shortcakes with a raspberry-flavored apple jam filling. They’re free from colorants, flavors, and artificial sweeteners.

The Burton’s Biscuit Company has produced them for over 60 years now. These cookies are the perfect treat to serve at parties or to enjoy alongside a cup of tea.

Both adults and children like these cookies. It was even the most popular children’s biscuit brand in the United Kingdom in 2009.

Are Jammie Dodgers Suitable for Vegans?

Currently, these cookies are suitable for vegans, but they had a bumpy road. The recipe of these shortcake biscuits has changed a couple of times ever since Burton’s Biscuit Company made them. Initially, vegans could eat them without remorse until 2016, when the company altered the recipe. It wanted to improve the texture and flavor, but they added milk protein in the process.

This change upset vegans and lactose intolerant people, making them complain in droves. One online petition even attained over 8000 signatures, but it seemed Burton’s wasn’t buckling, that is, until July 2020. At that time, Burton’s Biscuit Company changed back the recipe to how it was, making it dairy-free again.

You don’t have to worry about getting an old product. These cookies have a short expiration date, so it’s nearly impossible to find old Jammie Dodgers that contain milk powder.

Do They Contain Palm Oil?

Jammie Dodgers do have palm oil in their list of ingredients. However, it’s sustainable palm oil which makes it acceptable for most vegans. Some choose to avoid palm oil because it contributes to the suffering of animals in its production. It’s related to the extinction of several animal species and the environment’s destruction.

Producers farm sustainable palm oil with sensible methods that damage neither the environment nor animals. Products that use it mark it as such on their ingredient list, including Jammie Dodgers.

Are Mini Jammie Dodgers Vegan?

Mini Jammie Dodgers have a different recipe from the original sized biscuits. They replace the apples with plums and change other things. Although they’re suitable for vegans, Burton’s produces them in the same line as other products that contain dairy, which may make it somewhat risky to consume for people with allergies.

Are Jammie Dodgers Jam & Yogurt Snacks Vegan?

Jammie Dodgers Jam & Yogurt Snacks aren’t suitable for vegans as it contains low-fat yogurt powder made from skimmed milk. They also have whole egg powder.

The Bottom Line

Vegans can eat both Jammie Dodgers and Mini Jammie Dodgers as they don’t have any dairy products or ingredients with harmful production methods. However, Jammie Dodgers Jam & Yogurt Snacks contain both whole egg powder and low-fat yogurt powder made from skimmed milk, making it inappropriate for vegan consumption.

Joe
Joe became a vegan after watching Cowspiracy. He always knew something was off with the way we consume animal products, but watching the documentary made him realized how bad it actually is. Joe is now making sure that every product he buys is 100% vegan!