With more people turning to veganism, there has been a growing need for vegan alternatives. A lot of the time, it can be quite simple to determine whether a food item is vegan or not. For multi-ingredient items such as bread and hamburger buns, it’s not always as easy to tell. Are burger buns vegan? It’s a mixed bag, and it all depends on the type of bun you are looking at. Read on to learn about what’s in a hamburger bun and which options are vegan.
Burger Bun Ingredients
Hamburger buns are made up of various ingredients. They are a form of risen bread that is round in shape and has higher sugar and fat content compared with ordinary bread. The current format for a hamburger bun has been around for over 100 years, but there are always new versions on the market with a different mix of ingredients.
The vegan diet has lots of health benefits, and there are plenty of reasons why you might have turned vegan. You need a range of plant-based products and animal-based alternatives to thrive as a vegan.
The only way to answer the question of which hamburger buns are vegan is by taking a look at all the different ingredients that go into them. The list of products inside a batch of bun dough can be quite long, but it is only through going through each of them one by one that you can really determine if a hamburger bun is truly vegan. There are few typical ingredients used in a burger bun, and these are flour, water, milk, fat, sugar, salt, and yeast.
Typically, wheat flour is used, but there are also non-wheat options that can be used. Depending on the preferences, different types and forms of milk can be used, such as non-fat milk, dried milk, buttermilk, whey, and nut milk for a plant-based alternative. For the fat component, there are also a few options to choose from. Butter, shortening, vegetable oil, ghee, or lard can provide the fat needed for a good bun texture.
Depending on the baker and type of bun, there can be other products added to it to switch the taste and texture. Some common examples are eggs, proteins, enzymes, and dough conditioners for improving the product quality such as potassium bromate, calcium bromate, calcium iodate, potassium iodate, azodicarbonamide, and calcium peroxide. For taste and aesthetics, food coloring, spices, spice oils, and spice extracts are also included in the bun dough.
The presence of animal-derived products such as dairy milk, animal fat, and eggs in any hamburger bun automatically disqualifies it from being vegan. There are also a number of sneaky non-vegan ingredients that you can find in many hamburger buns recipes, but not everyone knows about them. You can learn about many of these up next. If you are a strict vegan you might want to know the details of all of these minor ingredients, but if you are happy with products that contain small traces of animal ingredients, then you may have more options available to you.
Most sugar comes from the sugarcane plant, and this makes it wholly vegan. Some forms of white sugar, however, are categorized as non-vegan because of the use of bone-char in one of the refining processes. Certified organic sugar is not filtered through bone char and is, therefore, vegan-friendly, as is sugar made from beets or coconuts. Other sweeteners that are not completely plant-based include honey.
Many dough conditioners in bread and many baked goods are vegan, but there are many exceptions. L-cysteine is a semi-essential amino acid derived from hair or feathers. Sodium stearoyl lactylate, calcium stearoyl lactylate, and datem can also be derived from animal products, while phospholipase is pig-derived.
Food coloring may or may not be vegan, depending on the raw materials and process used to make it. It is crucial to check the ingredient list of a food item carefully to see what kind of addictives have been used.
Whey is a commonly fat ingredient in brand and bun-making. It is a liquid by-product in the making of cheese and is, therefore, a non-vegan ingredient in many hamburger bun recipes.
Many hamburger buns on the market are therefore non-vegan. The good news is that there are vegan options available for those looking to adhere to a strictly plant-based diet. You might be wondering about some of the popular hamburger brands and what they offer for vegans.
Are Burger King Buns Vegan?
For Burger King lovers, it may be very important to ask whether the hamburger buns from the popular fast-food joint are really vegan. The Impossible Whopper is a wholly plant-based burger. You can enjoy the plant-based burger patty, without worrying about eating any animal-based ingredients. You just have to remember to ask for no mayonnaise when you order the burger. The hamburger patty is a product of Impossible Foods and is known as the Impossible Burger 2.0.
When it comes to the burger buns used in many burgers from different outlets, they are usually not completely vegan. They contain whey protein, which is derived from dairy products as well as many of the animal-derived ingredients described above.
When you order the Impossible burgers at Burger King, the hamburger bun is vegan, according to the fast-food maker. You may want to verify that the buns they are using for your vegan burger when you place your order at your nearest Burger King location.
Vegan Alternatives for Hamburger Buns
Being a vegan doesn’t have to mean bland meals and none of your old favorites. Many companies such as Impossible Foods and Beyond Meats have come up with vegan product lines to substitute common meat products, such as burger patties and hot dog sausages. All you need to complete the vegan meal is a vegan hamburger bun or roll.
Which hamburger buns are vegan? There are several alternatives to pick from on the market. It’s important to note that the taste and texture of a vegan bread bun are likely to be different from a bun made using animal ingredients, including eggs and animal fat. This is not to say that you aren’t going to enjoy yourself. Vegan hamburger buns are very delicious as well.
One example is the hamburger buns from Angelic Bakehouse. These hamburger buns appeal to people with many dietary restrictions and are classified as vegan, kosher, and non-GMO. Each bag comes with three packs of eight buns each, which makes 24 buns. These are made from seven different sprouted grains. With these healthy hamburger bun alternatives, you can enjoy several other health benefits. They are low in sodium, high in fiber, and full of plant-based protein.
- HAMBURGER BUNS: Comes with 3 packs of Hamburger Buns (8 buns per pack), all bundled together in convenient 16oz resealable bags
Prices pulled from the Amazon Product Advertising API on:
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on [relevant Amazon Site(s), as applicable] at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.
For those with allergies, these buns are also free from products such as nuts, soy, dairy, eggs, and high fructose corn syrup. The product can also be used or frozen within 6 months of the date of shipping, which means an excellent shelf life.
Another hamburger bun alternative you can try is the gluten-free buns from Ener-G. These buns are packed in a bag of four. They are vegan, gluten-free, kosher, and non-GMO. The key ingredients in the Ener-G buns are white rice flour and tapioca flour. This bun option is low in protein, with just 1 gram of protein per slice. No preservatives are used, and refrigeration is not required, but there is still a long shelf life for these buns.
Finding vegan alternatives for common food items like bread can be challenging at first. Many ingredients go into the final products that many people are not aware of. As a vegan, you have to get good at checking ingredient listings to see if the foods you want to buy are truly vegan. There are several options available for vegan-friendly hamburger buns, and it always helps when the manufacturer has marked the product as vegan-friendly.